Aggregated News

Back to TTC Home

TTC News

Webinar: Viewing the Opioid Epidemic in Rural American Through the Lens of Prevention

Dr. Ryan WestergaardTuesday, March 17, 2020
2:00-3:30 pm EST
1:00-2:30 pm CST
12:00-1:30 pm MT
11:00-12:30 pm PT Register

Paper Highlights the Challenges of Helping Youth Quit Smoking

Helping teens quit smoking is daunting, but more research could reveal innovative ways to help, according to an editorial in JAMA Pediatrics by UW-CTRI Associate Research Director Dr. Megan Piper, Dr. Robin Mermelstein of the University of Illinois-Chicago, and UW-CTRI Director of Research Dr. Timothy Baker.

Read more here.

Dr. Piper also presented an overview of vaping and associated health effects in a Great Lakes ATTC/MHTTC/PTTC webinar in December 2019.  

Click here to view the recorded webinar: Vaping Overview and Catch My Breath Program 

New Cultural Competence Intensive Technical Assistance Options from the Great Lakes ATTC, MHTTC, and PTTC

The Great Lakes region includes urban and rural areas with increasingly diverse populations. Our region (HHS Region 5, covering IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, and WI) is home to a large Hispanic and Latino population: according to the U.S. Census, between 2000 and 2010, the Hispanic population grew by 49% in the Midwest. Minnesota and Wisconsin are home to the nation's second and third-largest Hmong populations. Minnesota and Ohio are also home to large Somali communities. And more than 30 federally-recognized American Indian Tribes reside in HHS Region 5.